I hear Paris is lovely in February

February 3, 2011 at 12:01 am | Posted in life, travel | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

Oh yes hi. As you know, I got married in August and haven’t posted a single wedding photo of myself. Why God?! Well, ehh, I didn’t get my wedding photos from our *awesome* photographer until early December and since then, my schedule has just been a whirlwind of holidays, work, play and simply not getting around to it. So here’s a sneak peak at what’s in store: The Dress. I just so happened to be the girl who bought the first dress she tried on. (Yes, I had fun and tried on a few others too.) I had heard that you always have a vision of what your dress will be, but usually a bride winds up with something unexpected. I was really into the idea of something satin (that didn’t work out), but I really didn’t want a strapless dress. I tried on the Anne Barge dress (shown) and immediately feel in love with the vintage-inspired lace pattern, the becoming neckline, and the dramatic train. It had a train! Was I the type of girl who wanted a train? Apparently so. It was the prettiest thing I had ever seen, and it fit me like a glove.

The real reason I’m writing this post is because I have a very romantic announcement: … Daryle and I are going to Paris next Friday! We are visiting my sister, Claire who has lived there for the last eight years. We’re staying in our own flat near Notre Dame and plan to explore, dine, drink, shop, museum hop and try our hardest to not think of life back home. Although I know I have the best tour guide possible, I’m wondering if you have any recommendations of places that I must go, places to shop, eat, etc.? Anything—really, even the smallest, random place. [I’m secretly hoping to find out the club that Daft Punk hangs out in.] I have city guide and a map; Daryle and I have been taking French Lessons via CD while we drive around (thanks to my friend Jen at Etsy Wedding), but I feel like personal recommendations are will be so enriching. I would love to hear your thoughts. And I do promise to report back (even if it is six months from now).

Many thanks, with love,

Katie

P.S. Wedding photos to come after I get back from Paris! xox

Photo taken at Chevy Chase Bridal, where I bought the dress. I highly recommend it!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. If you can, try to stop by the Poilane bakery. Such good bread!

    I also just like wandering around and stopping at the little markets that seem to pop up every morning.

    If you have time for a day trip, I highly recommend Fontainebleau. Much less crowded than Versailles (though that is lovely too).


Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.