Have you ever seen a graphologist? A.K.A. Handwriting Analyst?

February 20, 2013 at 2:14 pm | Posted in DC, insight, life, One of the most amazing things I've ever seen, outsider art, Washington, what will they think of next? | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

graphologist-washington-dc-party-tricksA few times a year, the playgroup that Jack and I attend hosts a mom’s night out. The get-togethers usually include many a cocktails and finger foods, plus it’s an excuse to get dressed up and talk about other things besides our kids. :) Last night was one of those evenings, but there was a twist—for fun, a licensed graphologist was invited to analyze our handwriting. At first I thought this was going to be total bunk. Like, my handwriting is my handwriting—it’s just the way I learned to write, right? The graphologist asked us to write a short paragraph about ourselves and to sign our name and then print it at the bottom of the page. When I showed the graphologist my paragraph, she immediately inspected the way I make my I’s. (I just put a stick, or a line, I don’t add the top hat and the bottom line, so to speak.) She said that I am someone who is very efficient, someone who often rushes through things to get them done because of how busy I am. I was like, “ok, now I’m listening!”

Time management of tasks is something I love obsessing about, but I never really talk about it to others. I always try to get something done as quickly and effectively as possible so that I can move on to the next thing. Isn’t everyone like that? Then I wondered if this handwriting analysis was like reading a horoscope—you feel like it applies to you, but it could loosely apply to everyone, right? Though, these details seemed to personal. She noticed the margins I left on either side of the paragraph. One side was very neat, the other, I left a bunch of space and it was sort of uneven. She said that she could tell I have a lot of creativity but that it was not being used to it’s full capacity. Um, sounds very true to me, actually. She also spoke again about my I’s and lower case T’s, noting that they were quite small in comparison to the rest of my letters. She noted that I probably second guess myself a lot and that I need to be more assertive. She tied that to my creativity also and said it’s apparent that I have a lot going on in my head, lots of ideas, lots of responsibilities, but that I need to explore what it is I really want, and then take my life in that direction. Wow, it was all so true. She was expressing things that have been jumbled in my head but I could never really articulate them.

I have been doing major soul-searching the last few weeks, wondering what is that I really want to do with my life? Sometimes I feel like I am so afraid that I will make the wrong decision, that I wind up making no decision at all. And that’s no way to live. My deepest love remains my blog. It is the one thing in my life that is purely Me. But even on my blog, I hold back because I worry about saying the wrong thing and offending a reader. (I see that it sounds particularly insane when I actually type that out.)  And I swear, I even have a note to myself that says: “Take a f***ing stand and write the blog post!” It’s interesting to me that these deeply rooted feelings had to be explained out-loud to me by a stranger who was able to tell this through the way I literally cross my T’s and dot my I’s. From now on, I’m standing a little taller. The expression “say it loud and say it proud” comes to mind. I am who I am and this blog is me.

If you are interested in having a party with a graphologist, Sherry LaReaux was the analyst I met. She blew my mind too.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just love you so much Kathy Mathy!! Awesome post and awesome blog, I love reading your posts!!


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

