My Family.

February 19, 2013 at 9:11 am | Posted in life, photography | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-01Sisters
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-02Daddy & Son
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-03The siblings
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-04A family
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-05Mom and baby
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-06These moments
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-07My mom and the kids
artistic-black-and-white-family-portraits-08Doting grandparents

One thing that blows my mind and scares me a bit is time. It’s escaping me and I almost wish I could make it stop. I look back on my life and I think of my sister and brother, and my mom and dad, and our life growing up. All of those years we spent every waking moment together. I see my sister and brother and can’t believe that we are adults! Like, jobs, relationships, lives, bills, real things; and all of that blows my mind so much. Where did time go? How did we get here so quickly? My sister, Claire has lived abroad for the past 10 years so we get to see her once or twice a year. Her arrival brings the family closer, it helps us stop what we’re doing and re-connect as a unit. This year, before my sister flew back to France, my mom planned a fun dinner and a photo shoot in my parents’ art studio. It was my mom’s idea to have black and white photographs with the seamless background (yes, seamless background — they literally have everything), and my mom’s wonderfully talented photographer friend Erick Gibson took the photos. The result: Us. In a moment together, arms around one another, goofing off occasionally, we created another memory. The evening my complete family got together to celebrate nothing more than what love is and family is.

Special thanks again to Erick Gibson for bringing his giant soft box and camera and spending the evening with us.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you Katie for sharing the photos and expressing how much they mean.


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

