Dreaming of ‘Valley of the Dolls’

February 11, 2013 at 11:23 am | Posted in design | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

valley-of-the-dolls-style

I first read Valley of the Dolls when I moved to New York many moons ago. I was working for an art gallery and interning at Astralwerks Records, and fascinated by the fast-and-fabulous life of the executives and higher-ups around me. Valley of the Dolls was given to me by a dear friend. I loved reading the saga of a young woman who moved to the big city in search of something more than what she had in her small-town growing up. In New York, I loved having access to non-stop action, art, music and late night clubs at my fingertips. To this day, I advise: everyone should live in New York once in their life (if that’s a dream of theirs), because nothing in this world can match it. If you haven’t read Valley of the Dolls, you simply must.

Here are some fun items that remind me of the book: (1.) Jonathan Adler ‘Sparkle’ a.k.a. never enough pills pillow; (2.) Kate Spade sheer pink heart knee highs; (3.) Classic Eames molded plastic rocker; (4.)Hanky Panky lacey bralette and boyshorts; (5.) Madewell heart scarf (think vintage flight attendant); (6.) Dior red nail polish; (7.) Vintage heart mug and saucer; (8.) Anthropologie sparkly heart earrings

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

