Our Christmas Season

December 28, 2012 at 11:04 pm | Posted in baby, life, motherhood | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas-01Sooo, we don’t get dressed up enough and I had to include this picture from a holiday party we attended shortly before Christmas. Oh hi, look at us!

01A-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

On Christmas Eve, my family came over to our house to have dinner and holiday spirits. We gathered around the tree and read Jack The Night Before Christmas and wondered aloud where Santa might be…

02-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

Bed time quickly approached and I put Jack to bed for the real party. My brother really wanted to have an ugly sweater party so he bought himself the most silly thing he could find off the internet. My sister and I were less prepared so my mom pulled out a vest she made for an ugly sweater party she attended so that my sister could feel equally ridiculous; all I had was this not-really-ugly sweater that I bought from a vintage shop when I was in high school (in the 90’s!).

01-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas
Daryle was prepared with this adorable reindeer wool sweater.

03-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas
Fast forward through a fun night. My family went home and Daryle and I prepared for Santa’s arrival leaving him spiked egg nog and some homemade cookies. :)

04-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

The next morning we were psyched to celebrate Jack’s second Christmas and Daryle’s actual birthday! We did our best to linger and enjoy our time together as a family. We sipped coffee and marveled at the gifts. Jack just wanted to crinkle the paper of the wrapped gifts.

05-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

And then it was time to dig in!

06-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

Jack got a pony and the vintage push-car…

07-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

…but all he really cared about was the bag full of blue m&ms my dad sent us. Apparently, some people don’t like the blue ones?! :)

08-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

After our time at home, we packed the car with gifts for my family and headed to Maryland for the evening.

09-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

We had a magnificent dinner cooked by my stepdad, the chef!

10-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

And then played in the living room, staying cozy by the fire with my brother, Uncle Pat.

11-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

Me and my baby.

12-merry-chistmas-from-the-maciochas

And my Christmas boys!

We celebrate the 12 days of Christmas in our house because just one day isn’t enough, especially with the holiday bustle where it seems like everything is due all at once between work, parties, shopping and family; the 25th just comes up too fast! So we leave our decorations up, keep the Christmas albums out and play around the glowing Christmas tree. It’s a special time in our household and I look forward to it every year. Sending much love from my house to yours! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

