I’m Just Fine – The Day After Sandy Edition

October 30, 2012 at 8:50 pm | Posted in baby, DC, decor, life, mid-century, modernism, Washington | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

All of the media hype for Hurricane Rainstorm Sandy had my blood pressure boiling, when all DC wound up getting was a steady stream of rain through the night, with a few gusts of wind. Every time I’d see the trees begin to wave, I’d say to Daryle “here it comes!” and then the wind would die down just as fast. I’m not complaining, and I feel terrible for my friends and family along the coast and throughout NYC; I just feel duped by the constant news coverage declaring it the storm of the century. Maybe for NYC, but not the midatlantic — and not this far inland.

With all the food I prepared over the weekend, I began to realize Daryle and I wouldn’t be able to eat all of it before getting sick of the corn chowder and chicken potpie, so I invited some of my galfriends over for lunch who were all off from work because the Federal Government was still closed. Since all the cooking was complete, I remarkably had some free time on my hands to get the house in order. I put Jack down for a nap and set the table, pulling out the awesome black leather placements my mom gave us years ago. Then, I snapped some pictures to show our dining room that we’ve spent years getting together, piece by piece. We found a phenomenal deal on the white marble Saarinen table off eBay and found the vintage off-white fiberglass Eames chairs separately off eBay. Later we bought the wooden dowel bases for the Eames chairs and Daryle attached them. Our dining room is finally complete!

I thought we’d keep the lunch simple and sip hot tea while we caught up post-storm. But that wasn’t the case. A couple bottles of wine, beer, and a bunch of laughs later, we relocated to the living room so Jack could crawl around. Everyone took turns playing with him while I enjoyed a little freedom and kicked back from my typical baby-and-me afternoon.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

