What to Wear to a Gallery Opening

September 7, 2012 at 10:37 am | Posted in contemporary art, design, fashion, life, style, Washington | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Ok, so here’s the deal. My dear old artist friend whom I haven’t seen in years is coming down to DC with his fiancée for a gallery opening. The artist featured at the opening has become a pretty big deal, I only knew her through my friend, and her husband who I used to work for (are you following me?) at his gallery in NYC called Team (I’ve written about Team here and here). All of these characters will be at the opening and since I haven’t seen them in so long, I’m feeling a little self-conscious about the reunion. I still have not lost all the weight I gained and secretly fear any comparisons to the old days. I still think of myself the way I looked at age 22, but in reality, it just ain’t so. I’ve known about the opening for weeks and have been surfing the net for the perfect flattering outfit to wear. I decided that I do not want to wear a dress. The point of an art opening isn’t to look super pretty and fancy, I just want to look cool and confident and happy (which, um, I am!). All spring and summer I’ve fallen for the fitted capri and am thrilled they are still in style come Fall. So the outfit is basically designed around a skinny capri. I’ve modeled everything in front of the mirror and think it’ll do. Here’s the breakdown of my finds…

01. Off-white, sheer and lacey tee from Madewell. – Walk, don’t run to their brick and mortar and/or online store. Killer apparel and good sales too.

02. Black “Favorite” tank with built-in bra from J. Crew.

03. NARS Lipstick “Heat Wave” – It’s more orangey-red than reddy-orange if you know what I mean, and will surely get any party started.

04. OPI for Sephora “Seriously It’s a Naan-Issue” – Something besides a matchy-match red nail or last year’s gray nail color will do.

05. Kate Spade iPhone case/wallet. – I love her stuff!

06. Frye Silver Metallic Distressed ballet flats. – I’ve come to terms with the fact that I am simply not a girl who wears heels. I can’t do it. I wish I could, but it would wind up being the worst night of my life. So flats it is.

07. J. Crew’s “Minnie” stretch capri – I am seriously going to buy a pair in every color. They are so flattering and really comfortable.

Think of me tomorrow night! xoxo

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

