The Greatest [Vegetable] Crop of All

June 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm | Posted in DC, food, gardening, vegetable, Washington | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Every year my garden has proven to be an experiment, I wouldn’t call myself an expert in anything green-thumb related, though I love watching what pops up. I’ve typically stuck with standby veggies like tomatoes and greens. My eyes tend to be larger than my stomach and I will plant a ton of seeds in my limited city-yard; rather haphazardly too close together. Toward the end of the day that I’m sowing seeds, I sometimes get really lazy and just throw the seeds in fertile-ish soil, dust my hands off, and go back inside. This was the first year I attempted to grow carrots. For some reason I thought they were a tricky thing to nurture. Carrots seeds are microscopic and they were the seed that I indeed tossed in one of the few sunny spots in the yard. I’m amazed at how they’ve grown. I pulled a bunch from the ground and they — look like carrots — and even better, they taste like carrots too! All I did was water the seeds (sometimes not even that!) and they came up without so much as a touch of fertilizer. So in my notes of the most easy vegetables to grow in an urban garden, I’m adding two items: Carrots and Arugula. Both of which are Katie-tested as a crop that will come up if you fling the seeds in soil and water sporadically.

Remember when my garden started like this, and then grew to this?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

