An Awesome Blossom Mother’s Day

May 14, 2012 at 12:28 pm | Posted in baby, DC, design, life, Washington | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Well, hello! Yesterday marked the first mother’s day I was able to celebrate with my new family. We woke up to a glorious upper 70’s day. I said earlier, we tend to be poor planners in advance so there was no way we were going to get into any fancy restaurant to mark the occasion; and it’s just as well — I don’t need any extra eggs benedict in my life right now. Plus, we wound up having such a better time than being cooped up somewhere on our best behavior. All I really wanted to do was go have a cup of coffee outside of the French patisserie called Paul which is popping up all over town. We went to Paul just about every day while we were in Paris last year. Their café crème is to die for, as is their easy ham, cheese and butter on a baguette sandwiches. I’m generally unimpressed with coffee in DC — it isn’t strong enough for me so I wind up going to Starbucks a lot, honestly. But Paul is gets it just right.

This particular location is on Pennsylvania and near 7th St. Just a few blocks from The Mall.

Daryle rocked his new colored chinos and saddle shoes (all the rage in Esquire mag). He was looking pretty fly!

Segway tours: representing DC’s tourist nerds. (hehe, I’m sure it’s a blast)

We walked through the Sculpture Garden.

And checked out the fountain outside the National Archives.

And then headed indoors briefly to see the awesome light exhibit at the Hirshhorn called Suprasensorial.

The neon lights were disorienting. I thought of Jon Stewart’s character on Half Baked wondering “have you ever seen it on weed, man?” :)

Then we walked through an installation of blue rubbery string.

You could spend as long as you wanted paddling through the sea of string. It was fun to see people of all ages laughing and carrying on.

And from there we headed to my mom’s house outside the city for brunch with family and friends. My mom was ecstatic to spend the afternoon with her favorite little guy.

My little one that gave me occasion to celebrate.

Hope all you mommas had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

