Spring Garden 2012

March 12, 2012 at 1:51 pm | Posted in gardening | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Let the gardening begin!

If there was a medal for the person who could sow seeds the fastest, I think I’d win it. As soon as Jack went down for a nap, I whipped out my seeds, soil and trays, and quickly put together three batches of tomatoes, peppers, peas, beans, pumpkin, squash, and a ton of herbs. I had an efficient system: fill all cups with dirt, divvy out how many plants of each I wanted, write labels and place in cups, add seeds to each and sprinkle dirt on top, and finally — take a picture. :)

Water and move trays to my new (gently used) greenhouse! Yippee! I’m stepping it up this year with a greenhouse. Something that I just learned is when using a greenhouse, you cannot forget to unzip the door to allow air in during the day. When the sun is beating down, even on a 50 degree afternoon, it can get up to 100+ degrees in there and scorch your plants (which would be a bummer). If the evenings are still getting below freezing, you probably want to bring in your plants for protection.

A couple weekends ago, Daryle and my step-dad Steve took the task of moving the raised garden bed from the shady spot it was originally built, to closer to my house, which is the sunniest part of the yard. The tree’s canopy really does shade a lot, but I think veggies will do better its new spot. I’m so thankful to Daryle and Steve for shoveling all of the dirt and unscrewing the bed and bringing it down. It was a pretty big job and thought it would never happen. So now I’m set up for success! I already direct sowed carrots — which I’ve never grown before and beets; and my greens: collards, spinach, arugula, swiss chard, red and green lettuce. I’m looking forward to documenting this as well as making some homegrown, organic baby food!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] yesterday the garden looked like this. Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. […] when my garden started like this, and then grew to this? Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

