Weekend trip to Historic Culpeper, VA

May 31, 2011 at 1:00 pm | Posted in life, travel | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Over the weekend, Daryle DJ’d a wedding in Sperryville, VA which is a good 70 miles outside of DC. I don’t generally crash attend the weddings he DJs, but when they’re out of town, I like to tag along for the ride. I will take myself out to dinner, get my nails done and lay about in the hotel’s king size bed! This weekend, my two besties Dylan (also Daryle’s roadie) and Erin (Dylan’s GF and my bridesmaid!) came along too.

The closest hotel to Sperryville was in Culpeper. Before our arrival, I envisioned Culpeper being a really boring Anytown, USA setting, but was impressed to find a darling authentic historic area.

Erin and I walked about the town peering in windows. We stopped into an antique shop run by welcoming old ladies. It smelled like a candle shop.

This is a really cool consignment shop with a ton of Radio Flyers.

As we continued on, we found a fantastic French cooking shop that was having a wine tasting too! Lucky for us, we chatted up the owners who recommended we hop around to a bunch of restaurants for appetizers to get a feel for the local vibe.

After trying a seafood place for calamari and chowder, we found our way to Foti’s, a dark and cozy restaurant with an eclectic American menu. I loved the atmosphere with hanging chandeliers and rich oil paintings and prints throughout.

The coffee was strong and French pressed—just my style.

The following day, on our way back to DC we drove through Manassas, VA. Route 29 is lined with the Civil War fences near Bull Run.

Daryle had yet another wedding to play. These holiday weekends can be really tiring. I love them for the extra day off, but Daryle really takes a beating with the back-to-back late nights. Of course he rocks the party which makes it all worth it in the end. :)

Erin and I continued on with our fun. We stopped in Reston, VA (of all places!) to check out the Reston Town Center. I crack myself up sometimes because as much as I love being a city-bird—I also love going to the ‘burbs to shop. You can park anywhere you like, all the stores are spacious with huge selections that aren’t picked over, and all the salespeople are friendly and attentive. It goes a long way for me.

No matter how many Anthropologie’s I’ve been to in the past month (there are two in DC) plus shopping online, I couldn’t hesitate trying on this yummy white shirt from their sale rack.

…and this is just because: he’s cute.

Hope everyone had a fun long weekend!

Summer is really here isn’t it? It’s hot and muggy and you know what? I love it!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

