Best East Coast Beach Town: Rehoboth, Delaware

April 11, 2011 at 10:32 am | Posted in life, photography | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,
Above: On the beach with boots. Who would have thunk it? | Bad-ass eighties car: Iroc Z.
Above: My darling
Above: A flock
Above: The water tower
Above: Blown out. Loving the moment.
Above: Old fashioned signage

As a child through my early teens I lived in South Florida, about a mile from the beach. Every weekend my mom and dad would take me, my sister and brother to the beach. We loved the water and would swim for hours playing games. I remember every so often, we would have to get out of the water and trek back to where my parents sat because the tide had pushed us over a good 30 feet. In the evening as I would lay in bed trying to go to sleep, I remember still feeling the ocean waves run through my body, rolling in and out—it was the most peaceful feeling, and I would fall fast asleep. Now as I’m older, I don’t go to the beach often. So whenever I return I feel a longing to be back near the sea. I listen to the waves, admire the dunes and meditate in the moment.

Over the weekend, Daryle and I traveled to Rehoboth Beach to attend our dear friend’s wedding. Even though it was still the off-season and cold and gray, we fell for the town. The people were so friendly, the beach was beautiful, and shopping was so fun. On Saturday we walked for a while on the beach. It was very cold and windy and I thought to myself that I had never imagined I would be wearing black leather boots on the sand. It was quite the get-up. By Sunday the air was a bit more mild and we were able to dip our feet in the water. We walked up and down the beach for a long while and promised to return soon.

Here are a couple of places I would recommend:
We got really good coffee at The Coffee Mill. It’s a privately owned shop that offers at least five different brews at any given time to choose from; many of which come from organic and fair trade beans.

Carltons is an old-fashioned department store with the best service. At first glance, I wasn’t sure if it was an old lady store because the logo is this fabulous scripty font. I saw an awesome sixties printed dress with 3/4 sleeves in the window and ran in to try it on. (It fit perfectly and I wore it to the wedding!) The staff was soooo attentive and kind. I’ll definitely go back next time we’re in town.

Azura is another really great store to buy dresses. They have some pricey Euro-style outfits, but in the back room, they have a ton of stuff on sale for $20. I bought the cutest sweater dress.

We stayed at The Breakers Hotel. It certainly isn’t the greatest hotel in the world, but it isn’t bad at all. It was right on the adorable Rehoboth strip with all the shops and restaurants and only a few blocks from the ocean. It was very clean and our bed was really comfy.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed Rehoboth Beach. My family and I visit often and we always have a great time.

  2. i would really love to take you on a tour of my favorite beaches out here sometime. cold, gray beach days are sortof my favorite. i had a nice one this weekend

  3. Not an Iroc-Z, looks like a Nissan 300zx. Nice pictures!


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

