Serge Gainsbourg’s house in Paris

February 16, 2011 at 6:56 am | Posted in french, travel | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Oh oui je t’aime………Many many years ago, while working in the Chelsea area of Manhattan, my colleague at the Gallery was giving me a list as he called it “music to change your life” and told me to listen to Serge Gainsbourg’s album called Historie de Melody Nelson. Taking his advice, I bought the CD that evening and discovered a world a that I hadn’t known existed. Serge Gainsbourg was a pioneering french singer songwriter who over the course of his 30-plus year career covered styles as diverse as jazz, pop, disco, reggae, rock-and-roll, and film scores. With his own acerbic wit and innuendo laden word play, he became one of the most beloved figures in French pop music, and a musician dear to my heart. He alone has promoted my love for French culture, and love for the adorable sexy-kitten, Brigitte Bardot whom he dated for a while before marrying Jane Birkin.

Yesterday we reached the front of his apartment which is covered in graffiti from people who want to share their love and affection for Serge. His daughter, Charlotte Gainsbourg is trying to turn his home into a museum, though at the moment is not open yet. Maybe it will be on my next visit.

You can find Serge Gainsbourg’s apartment at 5 Rue de Verneuil 75007 Paris. It is in a wonderful area populated with art galleries, expensive and ornately decorated antique shops, and some fabulous clothing boutiques.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] guides, a hint of my favorite fashion, backyard gardening, and sharing experiences from my little out of town adventures. I hope to write more often this coming year. I’m not always the most organized person, but […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

