Laurel Nakadate: Only the Lonely at PS1

February 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm | Posted in contemporary art, pop culture | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Oh oh oh, things I want to see: The Laurel Nakadate exhibit at PS1. Do you know PS1? If not, you really should; it is my most favorite contemporary art museum in the US. (I sound like such a snoot, there is one other that I love even more: the Palais de Tokyo in Paris!) PS1 is in a converted school in Long Island City Queens. The “PS” standing for Public School. It is in the neatest space, with tons of rooms on several floors with lots of light coming from expansive windows. Whenever I go there I pretend I’m exploring it for the first time and creep in and out of each room studying the scenery. I saw Nakadate’s exhibit at Adamson Gallery in Washington and fell smitten with her real-life photos of herself and other girls in their skivvies. Nakadate is one to seduce the camera. I was mesmerized when I first laid eyes on her work.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

