ShortStack and Good Omens at Comet Ping Pong

November 17, 2010 at 10:07 pm | Posted in DC, music, photography, Washington | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Bassist from the band Good Omens out of Brooklyn. I love this photo.
Adrian Carroll from DC based band, ShortStack
Relaxing after the show at Comet Ping Pong which doubles as a music venue / pizza place.

My most favorite DC band, Shortstack played over the weekend at Comet Ping Pong. I love them so much. They have a twangy-rockabilly sound with a standup bass, one guitarist obsessed with effects on a Gibson and the other guitarist/lead singer playing a Gretsch with a steel pick. To date, I think I’ve seen them more than any other band. I’m their secret biggest fan! haha. It was a special night because I saw an old friend who used to play in the DC band Measles Mumps Rubella (MMR) and is now in the band called Good Omens which are based in Brooklyn. Being a somewhat new band / opening act, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I fell head over heels. They’re heavy on the synth sounds with a Moog keyboard player, loud solid electric guitar blazes, and a chick lead singer who haunted the audience with her Mazzy Star-esque voice. Love. They reminded me of Jesus and Mary Chain only with a female lead. I was blown away.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. love all the plaid on you and your man

    • girl, you totally picked up on the whole reason I posted that pic. :)


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

