Old school supermarkets

November 15, 2010 at 10:45 pm | Posted in DC, photography | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Do you ever see old-fashioned packaging and think “oh man, I can’t believe that’s still around”? Well, I do. I’m definitely digging the My-T-Fine pudding and Jason’s Breadcrumbs. How terrific is that vintage neon Giant Food sign? The supermarket is on Wisconsin Avenue and is teeny; it has not-so-pretty produce, but the sign makes it worth a trip—at least a drive-by at night.

Photos from my iPhoney.
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I will have to check this out when I go back home. I’ve driven up and down Wisconsin Ave. many times, but somehow missed this. What neighborhood is it in?

  2. It’s a couple blogs south of Porter—around the National Cathedral, right near Two Amy’s and Cactus Cantina. :)

    http://maps.google.com/maps?oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&q=giant+food+wisconsin+ave&fb=1&gl=us&hq=giant+food+wisconsin+ave&hnear=Washington+D.C.,+DC&ei=iTvkTPebOYOGzQSu_NmNDg&oi=local_result&ved=0CFUQpQY&hl=en&view=map&cid=13592044977930679675&ll=38.935211,-77.075465&spn=0.012919,0.027874&z=16

    • We sometimes go to Christmas Eve at National Cathedral and funnily enough go to Cactus Cantina afterward. I’m surprised I never noticed it before! I’ll have to make a special trip if we don’t do Christmas Eve down that way this year :)

      • Wow, Christmas Eve at National Cathedral sounds lovely. I may check that out!


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

