Spring salad, worms and bugs

June 8, 2010 at 7:51 am | Posted in gardening | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Hello and Happy Tuesday! I took Monday off from work and spent the day in the yard gardening. Boy, what a day to choose; we had a high of 79 degrees; absolutely glorious.

Lot’s of goodies are producing! The strawberries are scrumptious!

The peas are fat and sweet. I don’t think I’ve ever seen more beautiful loose peas [grin].

I picked the remaining heads of lettuce because I noticed the flavor was turning slightly sour from all of the heat we’ve had. The other night I made Daryle a salad with lettuce from the garden. I ran the faucet over the greens for a minute and figured all of the dirt and stuff would be down the drain. When we were sitting to dinner I heard a little scream…from Daryle! There, he pointed at the tiniest green worm on a leaf. Eck! Gross! But at least it wasn’t on my plate. :) Two minutes later I found a tiny black and hairy worm on my plate. YUCK! So I’ve got to warn you: When rinsing lettuce, you’ve got to attend to every single leaf; run water over it, spread its curls out, flip it over and do it all over again. I’m not kidding. Little bugs and worms hide in the spots you never see. I definitely wasted a lot of water cleaning the lettuce. But, at least I am 95 percent sure there aren’t any bugs or worms in my greens.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

