Modern house: Japanese inspired garden

October 26, 2009 at 11:28 pm | Posted in architecture, gardening | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,
The gray house in the center is ours.
View from the sidewalk.
landscape-plan-daryle-and-katieA very rough landscape plan.

I thought it would be fun to post before-and-after photos of my yard. Last week, Daryle and I finalized the landscape plan. In order to keep the neighbors happy, we thought it best to begin with the front yard, since it currently consists of spotty grass full of weeds, and an over-sized yew tree. We met with a botanist to help choose the best plants that would grow. I’m not a big fan of flowers, I’d rather have sculptural looking plants that stay green all year. I also really wanted a garden that’s low maintenance. I prefer to spend my energy on the vegetables in the backyard. We thought a Japanese inspired garden would match the aesthetic of the house and neighborhood.

Most of the plants that we chose are evergreens. They are hardy, lush, and each have a distinct personality. I’m really excited for the two ornamental grasses. One grass will go at the top of the stairs that comes up from the sidewalk and the other will separate our house from the neighbor’s. On either side of the stairs, Barberry bushes will be interspersed with sprawling juniper and Pine Mugo Dwarf on the hill that also comes up from the sidewalk. A Pine Austrian Topiary will be the main sculptural statement, it will stand near the entrance to the house. A Weeping White Spruce will go in the center of the front yard, while the Juniper Hetzi Columnaris will separate our house from the other neighbor.

The front yard should be finished by the end of the week. I will report more later!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whoa! YEAH! I’m most psyched about the weeping white spruce!!! Can’t wait to see the “after”!!

  2. Ha, that makes two of us!!

  3. You really make it appear really easy together with your presentation but I to find this
    matter to be actually one thing which I feel I might never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m having a look forward to your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the cling of it!


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

