Gourmet magazine closes

October 6, 2009 at 9:55 am | Posted in classic, design, food, magazine industry, typography | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

gourmet

Gourmet magazine, known for it’s exquisite recipe ideas, alongside impeccable photography, and tasteful typography is closing after being published for nearly 70 years. I ask you this: Is nothing sacred? Answer: No, nothing is. The publishing industry being in shams has left me wondering: What am I going to do? Where will I go if something similar happens to the magazine I work for?

I can say this: I didn’t do enough. I let my Gourmet subscription fall after receiving the magazine for years.

I propose everyone re-up a subscription to their favorite magazine. What magazine would you choose? At my house, we already receive Dwell, Esquire, and Sunset. I will re-subscribe to Vanity Fair today. If that magazine closes, it really will be the end of the world.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the new yorker!

  2. I put my money where my mouth is and re-subscribed to Vanity Fair for two years; and also subscribed to Wired. Good times.


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

