Garden Update: Weeds, tomatoes and white spots

July 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm | Posted in dirt, gardening | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

In addition to the vegetables growing tall, my backyard was totally consumed by weeds. I just can’t seem to keep up with them. Before I know it, I have nasty, tall weeds taking over. I spent a good part of Sunday pulling each one-by-one. I don’t have the heart to put any sort of weed killer on the ground since it’s bad for water run-off and the environment in general—and the poison would be just too close to my future dinner.

The Amana Orange tomatoes bloomed much later than the Brandywines. Here is proof that I will have a medley of tomatoes in the days to come.

The sunflowers continue to bloom so well. Now there are off-shoots of smaller flowers that have grown from the main plant.

My only concern at the moment is about my gloriously long pumpkin plant. Out of nowhere the plant has developed white spots. Google says this is a sign of fungus and offers a variety of advice. I’m hoping to still be able to yield a few pumpkins come Halloween.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Look at your garden! I am so impressed. And look at me, I found your blog! I have subscribed to it and get very excited when I see new posts in my google reader :)

  2. Ahh, thank you so much for visiting! That makes me so happy. :)


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

