Garden Inspiration: My parent’s house

July 6, 2009 at 11:45 pm | Posted in dirt, gardening, life | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Visiting my parents is kind of like staying at a B&B. It’s a place I go to get away from the city, enjoy delicious cuisine and relax at night by the outdoor firepit. My parents live in a charming, turn-of-the-century four-square in Gaitherburg, MD (about 20 miles from Washington, DC). The only downside is that I still have to do my dishes.

02_doodads

03_doodads

A woman once said to my mom “you can never have too many doodads in the garden” and we have never forgotten that.

04_daisies

05_lillies1
Every year they have a gigantic vegetable garden from which I draw my inspiration. You can commonly find: heirloom tomatoes, onions, leeks, garlic, chives, radishes, swiss chard, carrots, zucchini, pumpkins, various herbs, peas, greenbeans, and peppers.

06_swiss chardAbove: Rainbow Swiss Chard, a hardy green—much like spinach except it grows happily for most of the year.
07_tomatoesTomatoes are beginning to grow. Marigolds are used to steer rabbits and deer away who dislike the scent.
Leeks are beginning to go to seed, but aren’t they beautiful. On the right, a gigantic golden zucchini plant.
Onions (I think) and carrots are sprouting up!
A radish plucked from the ground.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

